Great names join Globe Award Jury

Globe Award Jury consists of the most recognizable, experienced and noted representatives in the field of sustainability. This year joining such outstanding names like Prof. Mohan Munasinghe – the Nobel Peace Prize winner 2007 – will be Prof. M. S. Swaminathan – “the Father of Economic Ecology” and Dr. Carlos Arruda, Professor and Director of International Relations at Fundação Dom Cabral.

“He is a living legend” said Secretary General of the United Nations Javier Perez de Cuellar about Prof. M. S. Swaminathan who is also known as the “Father of the Green Revolution in India”, for his leadership and success in introducing and further developing high-yielding varieties of wheat in India. He is the founder and Chairman of the MS Swaminathan Research Foundation.

He was one of three from India included in TIME Magazine’s 1999 list of the “20 most influential Asian people of the 20th century” , the other two being Mahatma Gandhi and Rabindranath Tagore. Professor Swaminathan is a member of numerous, leading, scientific academies, such as the Royal Society of London and the U S National Academy of Sciences. He has received 58 honorary doctorate degrees from universities around the world. He currently holds the UNESCO Chair in Ecotechnology at the M S Swaminathan Research Foundation in Chennai (Madras), India. Due to his extraordinary achievements and experience he will be joining the Sustainability Innovation Globe Award Jury.

Dr. Carlos Arruda is at present a chairman of the UNICON board (USA) and a member of the World Economic Forum (Switzerland) Council on Talent and Diversity of the Technical Advisory Council of Instituto Venturus (Brazil). He has obtained his PhD diploma in International Business from the Bradford Management Centre in United Kingdom. Apart from business activities and educational work, Dr. Arruda is an author of books and articles on the topics Internationalization of Brazilian enterprises, Competitiveness and Management of Innovation. Thanks to his experience in the sustainable development area and Latin American background he will provide multidimensional view on sustainable cities across the world as one of five members of the Sustainable City Globe Award Jury.

These unique experts will select laureates for the Sustainability Innovation Award 2010 and the Sustainable City Award 2010. They will help to reach an objective and fair verdict. Therefore their contribution to Globe Award’s development will be crucial.

The Globe Award’s main purpose is to explore and support researchers, innovators, cities and companies that are leading in sustainable development. The awards are handed in four categories: the Sustainability Research Award, the Sustainability Innovation Award, the Sustainable City Award and the Sustainability Reporting Award. The candidates can send in their application from December 1st to February 28th 2010, at

Globe Award will be presented for the fourth consecutive time at the solemn gala at Nordiska Museet in Stockholm April 29th, 2010.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: